Things to look forward to

I am starting to experience some major anxiety about moving to North Carolina. Moving across the country is going to be expensive, making new friends is going to be hard, being a full-time student again is going to be stressful, and don’t even get me started on the crazy nightmares I’m already having about the six- and eight-legged creatures I’m going to find in my bathtub or the back of closet.

I’m also starting to get excited that I will get to pursue what I have been working towards for months. And to be honest, I’m kind of excited about moving to the south. Correction – I’m excited for a change. The south is SO different from the western United States, but it does have a few things going for it.

To mention one, I am looking forward to making this building my home for the next 2 years.

And I’m looking forward to living in a state that has real trees and real flowers, like these.

I’m excited to maybe live in a house with a porch, like this one:

Undoubtedly, there will be plenty of natural beauty to fill my soul… but I better take every opportunity in these next few months to fill my soul with beach sunsets, fish tacos, and craft beer, cause I have a feeling North Carolina won’t be able to come through with adequate substitutes. Ah well, just an excuse to enjoy tacos, the beach and beer as often as possible… as if I needed an excuse.

3 responses to “Things to look forward to

  1. Mawi! You’re moving to North Carolina?! For grad school?! This is very exciting and clearly shows that we have not caught up in far too long, which is disappointing. I can’t wait to hear (and read) about all your adventures!

    • Hi Jess! You’re right, sadly it has been a while. Yes, in August I will be moving to start a master’s of social work program. It will be a crazy (but hopefully rewarding) change…

      • I’m stoked for you! I’m sure there will be lots of new things for you to experience — talk about a growth experience. Proud of you for taking such a big leap! Whereabouts in North Carolina will you be?

Leave a Reply

