The Gratitude Short List – #3

It has been impossible for me to focus this week. It was the type of week where one day might encompass half a dozen highs and lows, which wouldn’t phase some, but I much prefer to make blanket statements like, “My day was great!” or “My day was awful,” and so weeks like this one really interfere with that. It’s been good for me at the start of the evening to practice taking a deep breath, letting it go, and letting the day be what it was. Now it is Thursday, which comes before Friday, which always spells deliverance for me – the one day I get to sleep in and wake to an empty apartment. On this Thursday, eve of Friday, I am grateful for the following:

  • Favorite things, like Twiggs’ peanut butter cake that you can always count on to cheer you up and taste delicious
  • The clarity and renewed perspective that comes with the therapeutic act of cleaning your house (sometimes)
  • Fiction, and the invitation to escape your muddled thoughts for a brief while

I got a Kindle for my birthday(!), and was thus obligated to buy a book to read on it. I wanted something besides the usual New York Times Bestseller, and I chose Toni Morrison’s Beloved, which I’ve never read. I’ll let you know what I think when I finish… although I’m a notorious book non-finisher. Hopefully before the end of 2012.

3 responses to “The Gratitude Short List – #3

  1. YOU GOT A KINDLE! Haha you forgot to mention that…how did you like the book?? Counting my blessings always always helps me fall asleep at night when I’m having trouble. I hope you continue to blog so I can read about your adventures. :)

  2. Maybe you will have time during your cross-country drive. ;)

Leave a Reply

