Simplify


© Oleksiy Kovyrin

Our lives are frittered away by detail. Simplify, simplify.

– Henry David Thoreau.

In case you are a nerd like me, and would like to know the particular definition of the word “fritter,” don’t worry I’ve got you covered: to fritter something away means “to waste time, money, or energy on trifling [wasteful or frivolous] matters.”

I could definitely use more simplicity in my life. Often I let the minutiae of life overrun my thoughts and motivations – things like how many times a week I exercise, whether my wardrobe is staying with the times, or how many work-related emails are in my inbox. It’s amazing how counter-cultural simplicity has become. Yet I find that anytime I let go of the “stuff” that fills my closet, my time, my inbox, my brainwaves, I feel lighter and more free. Suddenly there is all this space left for me to actually experience who I am and who others are in the midst of the stuff-laden lives that we live.

I stumbled upon this blog post of tips to simplify your life… ironically, to the end of achieving more productivity. This may not line up so well with Thoreau’s quote above, as I conjecture that Thoreau would argue that pursuing simplicity as a means to deal more efficiently with detail is not simplicity at all… Either way, the following tips from the blog post could quite possibly revolutionize my life:

  • Turn off all technology for 60 minutes a day and focus on doing your most important work.
  • Don’t check your email first thing in the morning.
  • Don’t answer your phone every time it rings.
  • Make sure you plan a decent holiday break once a year. (I find it should be at least 10 days for it to become truly regenerative.)

Check out the full list here. Do any of these tips speak to you? What principles have helped you to preserve simplicity in your own life?

One response to “Simplify

  1. But I like checking my email first thing in the morning… once I get to work. What am I going to do with myself?

Leave a Reply

